Healing Tool is art designed for people in cars. A temporary public art installation using digital billboards on interstate freeways.
By media artist Brian Kane. June 28 June - July 26 , 2015
More info: http://briankane.net/healing-tool/
95 Northbound, Wakefield, MA 42.5202 N, 71.088 W
93 Southbound, Stoneham, MA 42.47764 N, 71.11257 W
Google map: http://goo.gl/hyyqxo

As part of his ongoing series “Art for Commuters,” this installation introduces a poetically enhanced digital image on a giant electronic billboard in order to restore and realign the surrounding landscape. This work is part of an ongoing effort to simulate photoshop effects in the real world.

Design consultant: Joanne Kaliontzis http://jkali.com/
Photography: Nate Wieselquist https://instagram.com/natewieselquist/ and Simone Schiess http://simoneschiess.com
Video: Aurelio Ramos https://www.facebook.com/aurelio.ramos
and Thomas Ricci http://u2031.net/
Warp engineer: Andrew Hlynsky http://www.andrewhlynsky.com/
Clear Channel: Jennifer Suarez

Music: a i r s p a c e https://soundcloud.com/a-i-r-s-p-a-c-e

Contact: Luise Kaunert https://www.linkedin.com/pub/luise-kaunert/28/70b/8a9

©2015 Brian Kane http://briankane.net

Art

Clever billboards display art instead of ads on the highways

Billboards don’t offer much to travellers along the highway. They’re big, gaudy and over the top. So one artist produced a set of billboards that did nothing but display art to give drivers a break from the monotony of billboard signs.

Briane Kane’s temporary public art installation is called ‘Healing Tool’ and he says the goal of the project ‘is to provide a moment of temporary relief and unexpected beauty during the daily grind of commuting. The piece builds on a body of work which simulates digital experiences in the real world. In this case, simulating the Photoshop Healing Tool to replace or patch over the landscape which is blocked by the billboard’.

During the day, the billboards along 95 Northbound in Wakefield and 93 Southbound in Stoneham, MA show beautiful images of trees and sky are shown and during the night, images of the moon and the Milky Way. Can we all just admit this is 100% better than the billboards advertising fast food places and just do this across the entire world?

Via This Is Colossal

Billboard art
Billboard art
Billboard art
Billboard art
Billboard art

About the author

Rachel Oakley is an Aussie writer based in NYC with an obsession for the creepy, cool and quirky side of life. She’ll remind you she’s a vegan every chance she gets. Her IG is filled with doggo pics: @patty_pottymouth